The Husband’s Secret – Lane Moriarty

image

I had low expectations for this novel. Mum took it on holiday with her and wasn’t particularly keen however I like to give most books a go (That’s probably why my unread pile is currently so high!).

It starts off quite slow and we have three different authors which I believe exacerbates this:  Cecilia,  Tess and Rachel. The women come from different families but their lives are interlinked by a dark secret that they spend most of the novel unaware of.

Rachel’s daughter Janie was brutally murdered at 17 with no sign of the killer being brought to justice. Rachel is all consumed by the lack of closure she’s found. Combine that with her son and daughter in law taking away her beloved grandson and she may just do something drastic.

Tess has fled to Sydney following the breakdown of her marriage due to psychological infidelity. I mean that in the way that her husband hasn’t quite been unfaithful. Tess meets up with an old boyfriend in Sydney that is implicated more than you could believe in this narrative. Is he the killer?

And then I come onto Cecilia. Cecilia is married to John-Paul, they have a wonderful life with beautiful children yet when Cecilia finds a letter it turns her world upside down. John-Paul has the ability to ruin everyone’s lives but what will happen when his comes tumbling down around him?

I quite liked this novel. Although it had some predictable entities to it there were enough twists to keep me intrigued.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a comment